Essential Traditions/Real Food Real Frugal

The archives for the old Essential Traditions blog and the old Real Food Real Frugal Blog

AWOB Day 2 – Gabanzo & Kidney Bean Salad with Tomatoes

on March 3, 2008

Last night’s dinner was a BIG hit! And let me tell you, it fixed alot! Everyone ate their fill and there was enough left over to fill up a 6.6 cup storage container.

Photobucket

Guess what we’ll be having for lunch one day this week! I’m thinking the leftovers will be great over a baked potato!

Well, on to today’s bean dinner choice! Today we’re having Garbanzo & Kidney Bean Salad with Tomatoes. Here’s the recipe…

Garbanzo and Kidney Bean Salad with Tomatoes

1 lb. Organic Garbanzo beans
1 lb. Organic Kidney Beans
8 cups filtered water
8 tbsp. whey
2 cans organic diced tomatoes
1 organic onion, diced
Organic apple cider vinegar (with mother)
Organic Olive oil
Organic powdered garlic
Sea salt & pepper

Place garbanzo and kidney beans in a pot and cover with filtered water and whey. Let soak for at least 12 hours. After done soaking, drain off the water and cover with fresh water. Let cook until done. Drain and rinse the beans. In a large bowl, add the beans, tomatoes, onion and remaining ingredients to taste. Toss to coat well. Cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour. Toss again before serving. Serve over a green salad.

I started the beans soaking last night and after lunch drained off the water and added fresh water. Here’ how they look now…

Photobucket

Now, I’m going to make 1 change to the recipe. Instead of making my own dressing with the vinegar, oil and spices, I’m going to use organic Italian dressing. I already had a bottle laying around and thought I’d go ahead and use it. Once the beans are done, I’ll drain them off and rinse them. Then add all the remaining ingredients and mix well. Then I’ll pop it into the refrigerator to chill until Marty gets home. I’m going to serve it on a bed of organic lettuce.

4:45 – I just drained and rinsed the beans…they’re a bit smushy, thanks to my 14 year old over stirring them for me. I chopped up the onion and added it to the beans along with the canned tomatoes. I added the Italian dressing and mixed it all well. It tastes wonderful, but I just wish the beans weren’t mostly smushed! I’ve slipped it into the refrigerator to cool until dinner. Here’s what it looks like at this point

Photobucket

You know you’re a Mom to boys when you can slip tonights dinner into the refrigerator next to a tacklebox full of night crawlers! Anyway, other than being a bit smushed, it tastes and looks okay. The real test will be when Marty eats it. I had to fix a separate bowl for Colt, he requested for his not to have onions or Italian dressing. Now we just wait until Marty gets home and it’s time for dinner. I’ll tear up the lettuce then.

Photobucket

Here it is all served up. Everyone seemed to like it alright (especially Riley!). Marty’s only request was that he thought it would be better warmed up. But he did eat 2 helpings of it, so it must have been okay.

Photobucket

Well good night everyone! Tomorrow I will be making Mexican Beans!