Essential Traditions/Real Food Real Frugal

The archives for the old Essential Traditions blog and the old Real Food Real Frugal Blog

A Long Time Ago in a Galaxy Far, Far Away…

on September 9, 2011

Sorry it’s been so long without a post.  This has been an interesting week to say the least.

Justin's beautiful bride, Jennie (love my new sister!!)

Friday afternoon, we drove up to Fort Worth area for my youngest Brother-in-law’s (Justin) wedding.  We picked him up and drove over to Roanoke for the rehearsal dinner and the rehearsal.  I was the “official” wedding photographer so I had fun taking lots of pictures.  After that, we headed back over to Justin’s house to spend the night.  We had a nice time visiting with him and all was well until around 1 a.m. when I started having these terrible stabbing pains in my lower left back.  They continued most of the night, and it was after 4 a.m. before I was finally able to sleep.  We got up around 7:30 and I was feeling a little better, so, since I was the photographer, I pushed on and headed to the place where the wedding was to take photos.

All day Saturday, I took photos and hung out with family, but I continued to feel worse and worse.  I managed to make it through the entire wedding, but by the time we left I was again in considerable pain and nauseous as all get out.  Marty, the kids and I started heading home.  I got so bad that I finally had Marty stop at Hugley hospital in Burleson/Crowley because I honestly didn’t think I could make it home.  I got admitted in the ER and the doctor seemed to think that I either had a tubal pregnancy that might have burst or an ovarian cyst.  They gave me meds for the pain and nausea and sent my for a CT scan.  I was there for nearly 6 hours.  The doctor came in and said that my CT scan and blood tests had come back clean and the only thing they noticed was that I had a really high white blood count in my urine.  So, I was diagnosed with either a kidney infection or a UTI.  What was so weird though, was that I didn’t have any of the normal symptoms of a UTI, so I didn’t even suspect that was what it could be.  While I was waiting, Marty too the boys to eat and run off some energy.  He ended up buying me a little surprise.  Our cell phones were up for renewal, and he did that while I was waiting to be release.  He got us iPhones!!!  WOOT!!!  I was so surprised and excited when he told me (after I had woken up from all the meds they had me on)!  I finally got the meds out of my system and they gave me a prescription for Cipro and sent me on my way.  We got home late Saturday night…we had to stop and eat because I really hadn’t eaten anything all day because of the nausea.  Praise the Lord, all was okay!  I was really worried!

So, Sunday and Monday, I pretty much laid around the house and tried to recooperate.  Marty was home all day Monday because of the holiday so that was a big help.  Plus we had much cooler temps this week…I actually had to pull out some fleece pj bottoms to sleep in at night!  But then on Monday, Riley got sick with a fun 24 hour stomach virus.  He tossed cookies several times, including once at 3 a.m….all over his bedding.  By Tuesday he was back to his normal self.  Tuesday and Wednesday I spent the day processing photos from the wedding.  I still have a ton more to do, but will have to work on them some this weekend.

Thursday, my Dad came down to see how much fencing needs replacing so he can put some cows on our place.  After he was done’ he took us all out for lunch.  He headed home shortly after lunch.  Then Riley and I headed home and took a short nap, until Marty texted me to come back over to his work and look at some used living room furniture.  His boss and wife had bought new LR furniture and offered us their old couch and matching chair.  It’s a real pretty sage-y green (greenish gray) and is in excellent condition and is really comfy!  Marty will bring it home this weekend.

Anyway, as I was leaving home, I noticed a lot of smoke off in the distance.  As many of you know, Texas is burning to the ground (at least that’s how it seems).  We’re just one big tenderbox waiting for a match because of this drought.  By the time I got to Marty’s work, the smoke had increased.  We found out that it was over by the Lake Whitney dam.  As of this morning, the fire is 100 percent contained, but was not yet completely extinguished.  But if it was still out of hand, it could have easily reached us, it was only 10-15 miles away.  Thankfully the firefighters got it under control.  Everyone in Texas needs to hug every firefighter and VFD member that they see.  They are doing a wonderful job under the circumstances trying to keep us safe.  So all day yesterday, we were listening to the Fire/emergency radio and keeping updated via ham radio.  I’m also thankful for all the Ham operators, they were helping to keep us updated as there is no other current news on this fire on TV or the internet (Obama speech took precedence).  All in all, 7 houses were burned, about 200 people were evacuated (and still are as far as I know) and Whitney schools are closed.  They were without power at least a portion of yesterday evening, but I haven’t heard yet if they how power this morning.

Today, I’ve been listening to the fire/emergency radio, and lots of our area VFD are out on different fires (there are a BUNCH) in the area and continuing to work on the big one by the dam.  God bless these men and women!  I know they must be exhausted and many of these VFD are stretched to the limit and working with skeleton crews because not enough people volunteer and/or have to work during the day.  Later this morning, I’ll meet Marty for lunch and then run a few errands and pay a few bills.  Then maybe this weekend, I may be meeting my online friend Christine.  She’s helping to schedule and work out the details for  Texas Rubies Retreat, which is being held just 10 minutes down the road from us at Latham Springs Encampment.  It’s going to be held in April 2012 and just so happens to fall on my birthday weekend…guess what I’m going to ask to receive for my birthday!?!

So, as you can see, it’s been an interesting week around here.  I hoping to be back, more on schedule, next week.  Until then, have a beautiful and blessed weekend!