Essential Traditions/Real Food Real Frugal

The archives for the old Essential Traditions blog and the old Real Food Real Frugal Blog

Wednesday in the Word

on April 25, 2012

Over the next year, I’ve committed to reading the entire New Testament, Proverbs and Psalms.  Basically I’m reading 1 chapter per day (or about 2 psalms).  I’m using the Daily Light Reading Plan – New Testament with Psalms and Proverbs found on Heartlight  So, my friend Sam over at Sam’s Noggin has started a link up called Wednesday in the Word and I’ve decided to participate each Wednesday.  I’ve used the SOAP method before, but I’ve kind of forgotten about it here lately.  For my Wednesday in the Word posts I will share my SOAP for that day.  I will share what I’m learning in the Word with you and I hope that if you have any insights that I’ve missed that you will share them with me.  I’m not a Bible expert…just a simple woman trying to understand God’s truths.  So, without further ado, here is my SOAP for the day:

Scripture:

discretion will watch over you, understanding will guard you, delivering you from the way of evil, from men of perverted speech, who forsake the paths of uprightness to walk in the ways of darkness, who rejoice in doing evil and delight in the perverseness of evil, men whose paths are  crooked, and who are devious in their ways. Proverbs 2:11-15

Observation:

Reading and understanding Scripture is the only real way to keep our path in righteousness.  If we don’t know what Scripture says on a subject, we will easily be led astray by the perverted speech of those who wish to deceive us.  We need to be as the Bereans.

Now these Jews were more noble than those in Thessalonica; they received the word with all eagerness, examining the Scriptures daily to see if these things were so.  Acts 17:11

Application:

I need to actively be in the Word daily.  I need to compare all my beliefs to Scripture to see if they are sound and righteous.  I need to search the Scriptures to verify I am doing what is true and right.  This will prevent me from being led astray by those who wish to pervert God’s Word.

Prayer:

Father God, help me to carve out time each day to spend in Your Word.  Show me the things I need to learn and show men errors in my beliefs.  Help me to grow in the knowledge of Your Word and to apply it to my daily life.  Show me those in my life who would try to pervert me from Your truths.  Help me to walk the paths of uprightness.  In Jesus’ Name.  Amen.

Want to join us?  Post your SOAP on your blog and then hop over to Sam’s Noggin and join in the linky!

Linking up to: Wednesday in the Word, Mama Moments Monday, Modest Mondays,


3 responses to “Wednesday in the Word

  1. Sam Kelley says:

    Beautiful post from a beautiful heart! I agree, and wish more people would search the Scripture to check for soundness. We can’t rely on others to pipe our faith into us; we must read The Word!

  2. Robin says:

    I find such happiness when I read Proverbs.  I have read through much of the New Testament, but honestly, it seems like I’m drawn to the same books over and over.  Ephesians and Philippians are some other favorites.  No matter what I read, God gives me the peace I need to make it through the day.  

Comments are closed.