Essential Traditions/Real Food Real Frugal

The archives for the old Essential Traditions blog and the old Real Food Real Frugal Blog

5 Days of Frugality – Frugal Uses for Old Clothing and Bedding

on May 15, 2012

Welcome to my series, 5 Days of Frugality. This series is a part of the 5 Days of Blogging Blog Hop, hosted by the Homeschool Crew! For the next 5 days, I will be posting a series of articles focusing on Frugality. I hope you will enjoy them! Be sure and check at the Homeschool Crew blog to catch a TON more articles on different subjects by other bloggers!

If you’re anything like me, you often have a pile of old clothing and bedding that cannot be donated.  Maybe it has a small hole or stain.  It’s not good enough to donate, but it’s still too good to just throw away.  Here are some strategies for using them instead of just tossing them!

  • Old T-shirts make great cleaning cloths. I cut them up and store them with my cleaning supplies.
  • Flannel sheets & shirts make great cleaning cloths as well, you can also use them to make things like diapers, homemade pads, and so much more.
  • I save all the buttons and notions from off any clothes that are in too bad of shape to pass along. This is a great way to save buttons, zippers, snaps, etc. I use these items on other things that I sew or craft. For example, if you lose a button on a shirt and can’t find a matching replacement, you can use these saved buttons to replace all the buttons on a shirt so they all match.
  • I use old sheets to make things like napkins and cloth grocery bags. You can often find these at garage sales for pennies on the dollar.
  • Cut squares out of clothing made out of cotton fabrics or flannel to make into a quilt. Use an old or garage sale purchased sheet for the backing. These are perfect for camping, extra bedding or for picnics or car use.
  • Have a pair of jeans with holes in the knees? Turn it into a skirt by cutting off the legs and adding material to make a tiered skirt.
  • I save all the denim I can find and when I have enough, I’ll make a quilt. It will make a pretty scrappy style quilt.
  • Save some of your kid’s old clothes and make a special memory quilt with them.
  • Save T-shirts from different trips or school events, you know the ones with the graphic on the front that gives the event name and date. Take the fronts and sew together to make a quilt. This is a great gift for a graduate.
  • Extra socks make great dust cloths, just slip them over your hand and dust!

Check back tomorrow for the third article in the 5 Days of Frugality series!

Don’t forget to stop by the Homeschool Crew to find a TON more articles!

Photobucket

Linking To: Titus 2sday, Making a Home, Domestically Divine Tuesday, Teach Me Tuesday, Living Green Link-Up, Thankful Homemaker, Titus 2 Tuesday, Penny Pinching Party, Works For Me Wednesday, Women Living Well Wednesday, Homemaking Link-Up, Encourage One Another Link-Up, Simple Living Wednesday, Frugal Days Sustainable Ways, Wisdom Wednesday, Wise Woman Wednesday, Natural Living Link-Up, Proverbs 31 Thursday, Simple Lives Thursday, Thrifty Thursday, Beautiful Thursday, Frugal Friday, Mama Moments Mondays, Better Mom Mondays, Monday’s Musings, Welcome Home Link-Up,


10 responses to “5 Days of Frugality – Frugal Uses for Old Clothing and Bedding

  1. HillaryM says:

    I used to save interesting buttons and used them in craft projects.  Now that I have several little ones that are a bit rough on their clothes (or maybe it’s the farmstead tough on their clothes ?) I should do this more.  Now to hunt for something to keep them in.  If it doesn’t have a home, it starts to look more like a mess rather than potentially useful items.  😉

    Looking forward to more frugal ideas……

  2. Mrs Mordecai says:

    These are great ideas! I hate to throw away old clothes, so I’m glad to have some more ideas. My pile was getting out of control!

  3. Vansant6pac says:

    I turned my husbands flannel shirts into sleep pants for my boys.  Even left the pocket….really cute

  4. Jamie says:

    This is a good list – the only other thing that comes to mind is that often local animal shelters will take towels and small bedding that is in rough shape to use as bedding. Thanks for sharing!

  5. I used my spare buttons as math counters with my youngest in preschool and kindergarten…lots of homeschool uses for used buttons as well 🙂

    ====================================================
    Finding Beauty by Susan Godfrey
    My thoughts on faith, family and living the simple, country life!
    Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | Pinterest | YouTube
    Author Page at Good Reads | Amazon

  6. Kate says:

    Oh, great! And doll’s beautiful dress from old shirts, and funny bears hats from old boy’s socks 🙂

  7. Abo Malek says:

    hope that I watch all the new ideas and I hope that your company email customers

Comments are closed.