Essential Traditions/Real Food Real Frugal

The archives for the old Essential Traditions blog and the old Real Food Real Frugal Blog

Our Weekend

on May 12, 2008

Well this has been a fun, but busy Mother’s Day weekend. Friday we went to Walmart and got all the stuff we needed to make soap. Then we went out to eat at Braum’s. Saturday, we went grocery shopping and hit a few garage sales. Then we came home and Marty tinkered around with his Jeep. Then we all took a nice long nap. Nice relaxing day!

Sunday I made another 1/2 gallon batch of yogurt. Then we made soap!!

Photobucket

Here I am all geared up with my safety glasses, one of Marty’s old work shirts and rubber gloves…all ready to make soap!

Photobucket

Here is a picture of the soap right before we poured in into the mold. Didn’t get any pictures of the mold and all, but we just used a rubbermaid shoe box. Right now it’s sitting wrapped up in a towel on top of the refrigerator. I’ll sneak a peek at it this evening after Marty gets home to see how it’s doing. I can’t believe I waited so long to make soap from scratch..it was WAY too easy!

Then Sunday evening we fixed some sausage and sauerkraut for dinner and Marty took some of my fresh yogurt and mixed it with blueberries.

Photobucket

We added a little agave to sweeten it and it got gobbled up really fast! Marty made a second batch and put it in the freezer so we can have it for dessert tonight. Homemade frozen yogurt! That finished of the 1/2 gallon batch of yogurt I had just made, so today, I need to make another 1/2 gallon of it.

Saturday I received a really neat book for Mother’s Day from my Mom (THANKS MOM!!). This is one book I can HIGHLY recommend! It is just so neat and is chock full of wonderful information for making hundrends of products at home. It covers kitchen mixes, recipes, cleaners, home remedies, and tons more. I can see this book being indespensable for the homemaker! It’s called “Homemade” and is put out by Reader’s Digest.

Photobucket

Then today, I got a fabulous package in the mail from my friend Kelly…

Photobucket

It was full of yarn,recipe cards and homemade pads!! I love it! Thanks Kelly!!

Photobucket

There were small, medium and large ones.

Photobucket

Isn’t this the cutest little pad ever! LOL!

Today, is a gray and overcast day. I need to catch up on laundry, make more yogurt and do a bit of cleaning….all the usual fun stuff! Have a great day everyone!!